Event information

The Challenge

Taking the Sunrise Challenge is a fun and simple way to support CAMH and the work we’re doing to find new solutions to the most complex issues in mental health.

Rising Together

Participants in the Sunrise Challenge are asked to post a photo of their Sunrise Moment with #CAMHSunriseChallenge to social media every day of the challenge.

  • Your Sunrise Moment can be a picture of the sunrise, an alarm clock, your breakfast, or anything else that shows people you completed the challenge that day by waking up early.
  • We encourage you to do something positive for your mental health during your Sunrise Moment — whether that means taking time to meditate, move or read.
  • Sign up for the Sunrise Challenge email updates for announcements about our daily Sunrise activities!


  • March 31, 2021 Early Bird Registration Deadline
  • May 31, 2021 Sunrise Challenge begins
  • June 6, 2021 Sunrise Challenge Closing Ceremonies
  • June 7, 2021 Last day for fundraising to count towards incentive prizes

honorary chair

Annette Verschuren

To recognize her incredible mental health leadership and visionary support of CAMH, we are proud to recognize Annette Verschuren as an Honorary Chair of this year’s Sunrise Challenge. Annette has served on CAMH Foundation’s Board of Directors, Corporate Advisory Council and led many fundraising efforts for CAMH over the years. Annette is also the Sunrise Challenge’s first Event Patron, with a generous donation of over $39,000. We are thrilled to welcome Annette as an Honorary Chair of the inaugural Sunrise Challenge.

event patrons

Event Patrons are passionate supporters of the Sunrise Challenge who have made donations of $1,000 or more. Donate today to become one of our first Event Patrons!

Fundraising Superstars

Fundraising Superstars have raised $1,000 or more to support CAMH's ground-breaking mental health research and suicide prevention initiatives. Register to begin your fundraising efforts and become one of our first Fundraising Superstars!

event committee

Thank you to the Sunrise Challenge Committee for their leadership, expertise, and passion to bring CAMH’s first-ever Sunrise Challenge to life.

  • Tim Coldwell, Co-Chair
  • Claudia Fieder, Co-Chair
  • Aimee Beeston
  • Deborah Belcourt
  • Marla Charlette
  • Raji Aujla
  • Alexandra Fieder
  • Heather Kaine
  • Tanya Kololian
  • Riley Krembil
  • Marilynne Madigan
  • Marilynne Madigan
  • Tony Tsai
  • Dr. Gursharan Virdee